PCT Day 8: Zero in Warner Springs 

​April 18, 2017

Warner Springs 

0 miles 

Today we spent the entire day hanging around Warner Springs and it was awesome. I tried to sleep in a bit since I didn’t really have anywhere to be or much to do, but I still ended up getting up around 7ish (which I guess is sleeping in by hiker standards). 

I hung around for a while, and then Soren, Michael (who now has the trail name Gummies) and I walked into “town” for breakfast. The town basically consists of the resource centre where we’re camping, a golf course/restaurant, a gas station/convenience store, and a post office. The walk to the restaurant/store area from the resource centre is a little over a mile, but it felt pretty short with no pack and my new shoes (which are awesome). Breakfast at the restaurant was sooo good. It felt so nice to be eating real food. I had an omelette with spinach, feta cheese, and avocado, that also came with awesome hash browns. And hot coffee of course.

After we ate, we wandered over to the post office to pick up our resupply packages. I had a box full of food, my new Sawyer Squeeze water filter, and some blister prevention patches for my shoes. The box of food felt so heavy. Coming into town felt so nice because my food bag was pretty much empty and I had like one litre of water. 

Tent city and hiker laundry at the resource center

I ❤ bucket showers! 

When we got back to the resource centre, I set about doing my “town day chores”. I always kind of laughed when people said there were too many chores to do in town, but it really did feel like a never-ending list of little things to get done. I had to sort through my resupply, do final little bits of laundry, put my blister patches in my shoes… I don’t know what else, but it seemed to take up a lot of time. 

Opening your resupply box is always a bit scary… 

Some time in the afternoon, Jo and Mick showed up! We totally thought they had blasted off ahead of us, but it turned out they had spent some time back in the RV park at Scissors Crossing. It was good getting to catch up with them. We all got a ride back to the restaurant for dinner, and had a big group of hikers all eating together. There was me, Gummies, Jo, Mick, Soren, Peanut, the Canadians, Adam (I think) from Poland, and another guy whose name I didn’t catch. I got a whole vegetarian pizza for myself and a couple of good IPAs. The pizza was amazing, but I could only finish half so I’m packing out the rest to eat on the trail tomorrow. I’m super excited about that, but now my food bag weighs even more. Dinner was a lot of fun, and afterwards we wandered over to the convenience store to buy more snacks. I have no idea why but it seemed like a good idea at the time. Then we headed though the fields back to the resource centre, pizza boxes in hand. 

I’m… Supporting the local economy?

After dinner, we just kind of hung around for a while until it got too cold and dark and we headed for our tents. I’m getting to know a lot of the hikers in this bubble which is really nice. I’m going to head out as early as I can tomorrow, but my external battery is locked in the resource centre building until it opens at 8am, so it’ll be a bit of a late start. That things takes FOREVER to charge. I might need to replace it because it’s going to be super annoying if I don’t have 24h access to an outlet in towns. 

More from the trail tomorrow! 

7 thoughts on “PCT Day 8: Zero in Warner Springs 

  1. One thing that I always find interesting are the different variations between food items sold in both Canadian and American marketplaces. One good example is shown in your last picture of the “Double Stuf King Size! Oreo Smile” cookies. Never heard of them before, and not in an “8 pack” either… 🙂

    Like

      1. I see, that’s what I thought but I wanted to double check. ^_^ It sounds similar to the way I “showered” in Taiwan at my friends’ house. I got a bucket and a little scoop/ladle. It was a long but slow process.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

