We are now coming up on my final week before starting the Pacific Crest Trail, and I’ve finally got my gear list locked down. This list details everything that will be inside my pack when I set out from the Mexican border.

lighterpack

Chart from the awesome lighterpack.com

Big Three (5.8 lbs)

Pack – Gossamer Gear Mariposa 60 (2 lbs)

Shelter – Tarptent Protrail (1.6 lbs)

Sleeping quilt – Enlightened Equipment Revelation (1.4 lbs)

Sleeping pad – Thermarest Neoair Xlite (12 oz)

Clothing (worn) (2.4 lbs)

Trail runners – Salomon Speedtrak (8.6 oz)

Trekking poles – Fizan Compact (5.7 oz)

Running shorts – Old Navy (3.3 oz)

T-shirt – Nike (4.1 oz)

Long sleeve – Old Navy (4.9 oz)

Sports bra – Nike Pro Classic (3.4 oz)

Underwear – ExOfficio Give-n-Go Bikini Briefs (1 oz)

Socks – Darn Tough Hiker 1/4 Sock (1.6 oz)

Sun hat – Outdoor Research (3 oz)

Buff (1.3 oz)

Sunglasses (1 oz)

Clothing (in pack) (3.7 lbs)

Spare sports bra – Nike Pro Classic (3.4 oz)

Spare underwear – ExOfficio Give-n-Go Bikini Briefs (1 oz)

Spare socks – Darn Tough Hiker 1/4 Sock (1.6 oz)

Tights – Nike Pro Hyperwarm (9 oz)

Rain jacket – Outdoor Research Helium II (5.5 oz)

Rain pants – MEC (10.4 oz)

Down jacket – Mountain Hardwear Ghost Whisperer (7.2 oz)

Pyjama bottoms – Smartwool Microweight (4.5 oz)

Pyjama top – Icebreaker Merino Crew Top (4.4 oz)

Sleep socks – Bath & Body Works (1.5 oz)

Fleece beanie – Running Room (2.2 oz)

Fleece gloves – Nike (1.4 oz)

Fleece stuff sack / pillow case (1.2 oz)

Camp shoes – Old Navy flip flops (5.7 oz)

Kitchen (0.85 lbs)

Stove – MSR Pocket Rocket (3 oz)

Pot – TOAKS 750mL Titanium (3.9 oz)

Spoon – Optimus Titanium Long Spoon (0.67 oz)

Food bag – ZPacks Bear Bagging Kit (3 oz)

Plastic screw top container – empty PB jar (2 oz)

Lighter (0.5 oz)

Water (0.53 lbs)

Water filter – Sawyer Squeeze Mini (2.4 oz)

Water bladders – 2x Platypus Platy Bottle 2L (1.3 oz)

Water bottles – 2x SmartWater 1L (1.7 oz)

Electronics (2 lbs)

Phone – Moto X Play + Lifeproof Case (8 oz)

External battery – AUKEY 20000 mAh (1 lb)

Satellite communicator/PLB – InReach SE (7 oz)

Phone wall charger (1 oz)

Ear buds (0.35 oz)

Toiletries (0.8 lbs)

Trowel – Deuce UL (0.6 oz)

Travel toothbrush (0.46 oz)

Travel toothpaste (1 oz)

Dental floss + sewing needle (0.5 oz)

Ear plugs (0.04 oz)

First aid kit – bandaids, blister pads, antibiotic ointment, ibuprofen, KT tape, safety pins (2 oz)

Chapstick (0.35 oz)

Body glide (1.4 oz)

Travel hand sanitizer (1.4 oz)

Travel sunscreen (3.8 oz)

Insect repellent – Ben’s (1.8 oz)

Miscellaneous (13.8 oz)

Multitool – Victorinox Classic SD (0.8 oz)

Mosquito headnet (1.3 oz)

Headlamp – Petzl Tikka (3 oz)

Waterproof pack liners – 2x large garbage bag (0.8 oz)

Wallet – Ziploc w/ cash, cards, documents (2.5 oz)

Small notepad + pencil/sharpie (4.2 oz)

Tenacious Tape (0.5 oz)

Added Later (in Sierras/snowy sections) (~4 lbs)

Bear canister – BearVault 500 (2.56 lbs)

Traction aid – Kahtoola Microspikes (12.5 oz)

Ice axe – ??? (haven’t decided on model yet)

This brings my total base weight to about 14.5 lbs, which meets my goal of being under 15 lbs and is well within the range of being considered lightweight, so I’m pretty happy with it. I’d like to shed a bit more weight, but I’ll let that happen naturally along the trail. It’ll be fun to see how much of this gear makes it all the way to Canada!

 

6 thoughts on “My Pacific Crest Trail 2017 Gear List

  1. Nice list and fine you reached your goal in case of weight.
    One question: why you use the sawyer mini. Many prefer the normal one.

    Have you made any adjustments to the snow situation this year?

    Greetings
    Bert

    Like

    1. Hi Bert!

      I’m aware of the issues with the Sawyer Mini and have already experienced some of them for myself.. I’m not even sure why I bought it over the regular size to be honest, but I’m already thinking of having the normal one sent to one of the first trail towns, haha.

      And the only real adjustment I will possibly make for the snow is having snow gear sent to a spot earlier than the Sierras (ie. Idyllwild for Fuller Ridge/San Jacinto), but I haven’t really nailed down my plan on that yet.

      Like

  2. Hi Caffeinated Hiker! I found your blog via the PCTA’s instagram (the photo of all your gear… I’m immediately drawn in by photos of gear haha). I’m excited to follow your journey especially as I just started dreaming of hiking the PCT in 2018. Your gear list looks great. Will you take any sort of PCT literature/guide or maps?

    Like

    1. Hi Jody! Happy to have you here, I’m so excited to share the journey with you šŸ˜€ Hopefully it will be helpful/inspirational as you plan your own trek.

      I will be using apps as my main source of information/navigation. I have both the Halfmile and Guthook apps, and they seem great!

      Like

  3. Nice gear list. If you end up hiking and camping in the snow, you might find that your pad is not up to the task. I see it has an R value of 3.2. That’s generally considered way to low for snow camping.

    Like

    1. You’re probably right about that.. At this point I’m still crossing my fingers that I’ll be able to find snow-free camping most of the time. But if it seems like it’s going to be happening a lot, I’ll probably think about switching out my pad.

      Like

Leave a Reply

