One Day Out: Gear List for my First Overnight Excursion

The day is finally here!! Tomorrow morning marks the start of my first solo overnight hiking trip. I will be hiking the Highland Trail in Algonquin Provincial Park, which totals a fairly short 35 km. I’ve been busy all day with gathering and packing up all my gear and food, and thought it would be fun and informative to post a list of all the gear I am bringing on this trip. This will also be a good way to tally up all weights for my gear items, in order to find out what my base pack weight for this trip will be.

IMG_20160701_133534

All my gear laid out! (Minus the clothes I will wear)

IN THE PACK

Backpack: Gossamer Gear Mariposa 60 (1.003 kg)

Waterproof pack liner: Large garbage bag (23.4 g)

Tent: Tarptent Protrail (737 g)

Sleeping bag: Mountain Hardwear HyperLamina Spark (737 g)

Sleeping pad: Thermarest Neoair Xlite (340 g)

Rain jacket: Outdoor Research Helium II (156 g)

Rain pants: MEC brand (295 g)

Pajama bottoms: Smartwool NTS Micro 150 Bottom (128.2 g)

Pajama top: long underwear top borrowed from my mom (194.6 g)

Fleece: old fleece I had lying around (455 g)

Spare underwear (15.3 g)

Spare sports bra: Old Navy brand (57.2 g)

Spare socks: Wrightsock Merino trail socks (38.5 g)

Warm hat: Burton beanie (62.6 g)

Buff: Outdoor Research Echo Ubertube (20.2 g)

Camp shoes: Old Navy flip flops (160.5 g)

Clothing stuff sack: No Frills grocery bag (10.2 g)

Pot: aluminum pot borrowed from parents (190.7 g)

Food bag: ZPacks bear bagging kit (85.6 g)

Matches (23.4 g)

Stove:  Primus gas burner (262 g)

Spoon: plastic camping spoon (6.7 g)

Mug: aluminum camping mug (107.4 g)

Small plastic container: Nalgene (23 g)

Large plastic container: Nalgene (51.2 g)

Water bottle: Gatorade bottle (40.2 g)

Water bags: Platypus Platy Bottle (36 g), Platypus Softbottle (25 g)

Water filtration system: Sawyer Squeeze Mini (69.1 g)

Toiletry bag: toothbrush, toothpaste, body glide, sunscreen, deodorant, toilet paper, contact lenses & contact solution (340 g)

Bug spray: Muskol 8 hour insect repellent (53.4 g)

Trowel: plastic trowel (56.9 g)

Flashlight: Dorcy LED flashlight (84.8 g)

Headlamp: Petzl Tikka Plus (75.7 g)

Knife: Swiss army knife (103.7 g)

Wallet: Ziploc bag w/ cards, IDs, and car keys (107.7 g)

Phone: Moto X Play (172.4 g)

External battery: AuKey Portable External Battery (465 g)

Waterproof phone pouch: MEC phone pouch (17.7 g)

First aid kit: Adventure Medical Kits Ultralight/Watertight .3 (62.8 g)

Map: Backpacking Trails of Algonquin Provincial Park map (30.6 g)

BASE PACK WEIGHT = 6.924 kg // 15.27 lbs


ON THE BODY

(Gear I will be wearing or carrying in hand)

Trekking poles: Fizan Compacts (158 g)

Shoes: Salomon Ellipse GTX Trail Shoe (736 g)

T-shirt: MEC slim fit shirt (102.9 g)

Long sleeve shirt: Toronto Waterfront Marathon tech shirt (250 g)

Pants: Prana Sage Convertible Pant (380 g)

Socks: Wigwam Rebel Fusion Quarter II Sock (38.3 g)

Sports bra: Old Navy (87.9 g)

Underwear (28.2 g)

Hat: Nike ball cap (89.8 g)

Sunglasses: running sunglasses (24.6 g)

TOTAL BASE WEIGHT = 8.82 kg // 19.45 lbs 

L: My Gossamer Gear Mariposa all packed up and ready to go. R: All the food for the trip!

I’m quite happy with my base pack weight for this trip, as it is quite comfortably within the lightweight range! There are quite a few items on this list that I would like to replace before any trips of significant length, and I know that will help me get my BPW down even lower.

 

 

2 thoughts on “One Day Out: Gear List for my First Overnight Excursion

Leave a Reply

